top of page
Writer's pictureAngel Samata

MISC - How to get motivated even when you don’t feel like it

Explore the psychology of intrinsic and extrinsic motivation and dig into how these forces contribute to our drive.

--

Motivation is complicated. Psychologists define motivation as the desire or impetus to initiate and maintain a particular behavior. But sometimes, no matter how passionate you are about a goal or hobby, finding the motivation to actually do it can be difficult. Why is motivation so fickle? Explore intrinsic and extrinsic motivation and dig into how these forces contribute to our drive.



145 views44 comments

44 Comments


caldedie001
May 24

Samata #8

This Video reminds me of a Ted Talks video named "A master at procrastination" in which the speaker speaks upon his experiences as a procrastinator and how it has affected him. The reason this video and the other Ted Talk video are connected is because sometimes we lose motivation to do things because we may tend to procrastinate activities in which we can engage in.

Like

trigunat000
May 22

#14 Samata

Since I can remember I have always struggled with motivation when it comes to tedious tasks. I always had the mindset that if I wasn't going to gain something really good what was the point of me doing it. After a while I realized that when I didn't do my tasks something negative would happen. I realized it wasn't worth not doing does tasks. I used to only believe in extrinsic motivation but over time as I got older, I created a plan that would help me feel motivated. For example, I could get one of my favorite snacks if I completed all of my tedious chores. Overall, as hard as doing this type of boring chores and…


Like

Ochoajos009
May 22

#14 Samatq

A connection i can make to this video from my personal life would be my past experience would be the constant motivation i would have to give myself every day to go to zero hour gym and even go to the gym after school and sometimes working out after coming back from work and the constant need to be motivated or the lack of motivation leading to a cycle of lack of motivation and then motivation but lack of time as a restrain.

Like
chavedia002
May 22
Replying to

#1 Samata


I agree with you! It is difficult to motivate yourself even if it's for your own benefit. I've struggled going to zero hour gym because of the lack of motivation. It gets worse when you have to balance school with work, especially with a zero hour.

Like

rosalnaz000
May 21

#14 Robinson


This video talks about how it's hard for people to find motivation in doing things. I can relate to this because when it comes to school assignments I tend to say'' I'll do them later'' and I always end up turning in my homework late. Procrastinating is not a good thing. And a lot of people like me find it hard to just do certain things in the now then later. I'm working on procrastinating with homework less and less. And I think that most teenagers struggle when it comes to school assignments too.

Like

taboajoe003
May 21

Samata #3

This picture relates to the video because even though people know that working out helps you become healthier people don't want to do it because they are unmotivated to do it because sometimes it's not interesting to you. When people do something they have to be interested in the thing they are doing. If a person is not interested in the thing they are doing then they really don't want to do it. For example I don't like doing homework even though I know homework will help me with bring my grade up and help me understand the topic we are doing better if I'm not interested in it I don't want to do it at all.

Edited
Like
bottom of page